There are four main parts of Medicare are:

  • Original Medicare Part A – Medicare Part A (hospital insurance) covers Medicare inpatient care that is care received while in a hospital, skilled nursing facility, and, in certain circumstances, at-home treatment.
  • Original Medicare Part B – Medicare Part B (medical insurance) covers medical services provided by doctors, nurses, and other health care professionals. Part B coverage includes outpatient care, ambulance services, preventive services, and durable medical equipment. It also covers part-time home care and rehabilitative services, including physical therapy.
  • Part-D (Prescription Drugs) – Medicare Part-D covers prescription drugs and is a Medicare plan offered by private insurance companies that provides drug coverage to those enrolled in Original Medicare, Original Medicare with a Medicare Supplement, and Medicare Advantage (MAPD) plans that include drug coverage.
  • Part C (Medicare Advantage) – Medicare Advantage is a bundled Medicare plan offered by private insurance companies that completely replaces your Original Medicare Part A and Part B benefits and often included Part-D drug benefits.

There is one additional product also included in the Medicare family of options; they are called Medicare Supplements (Medigap). Medicare Supplement policies are offered by private insurance companies that help fill “gaps” in Original Medicare.

We at %location_locationName% can help you understand the many parts of Medicare and determine what the right fit is for you. Give us a call at %location_primaryPhone% to discuss the options available to you.

Scroll to Top

Ask a Bridlewood

San Diego's Best Medicare Insurance Provider
Best Medicare Insurance in San Diego